⚉|⚇|⚉ Bathroom Stall Prophets

The Stalls of Higher Thought

Irish Protest. North Americans Shop On Credit They Can’t Afford.

leave a comment »

irishunionprotest1

BBC: About 100,000 people have taken part in protests in Dublin city centre to vent their anger at the Irish government’s handling of the country’s recession.

They oppose plans to impose a pension levy on 350,000 public sector workers.

Trade union organisers of the march said workers did not cause the economic crisis but were having to pay for it.

One protester said he was “sick and tired of the way this government conducts itself and what it’s doing to this country”.

“I’ve a mortgage to pay, I’ve children to put through school, and now I’m being told I have to take cutback, after cutback, after cutback.”

“I’ve worked all my life, I’ve never broke the law, never walked out on strike. Instead I’ve went to work and done my job,” he said.

In a statement, the Irish government said it recognised that the measures it was taking were “difficult and in some cases painful”.

The pension levy was “reasonable”, the government said.

Written by mattliving

February 21, 2009 at 5:52 pm

Posted in Economics, Government

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

